Monday, 30 December 2013

Book Review: Kontakte and Other Stories

Kontakte and Other Stories
By Jonathan Taylor
Published by Roman Books
ISBN - 9789380905648

Jonathan Taylor, author of Entertaining Strangers, has recently published an entertaining short story collection, Kontakte and Other Stories, revolving around music and the relationship it has on people's lives.

Kontakte and Other Stories is about music - creating symphonies (Must Sound Genuine), listening to music (Kontakte) but most importantly the way people live with music. Taylor explores within this collection the way that music can heal relationships but the power of music can also create divides between people (Synaesthetic Schmidt).

Taylor's writing style is confident and elegant with touches of humour throughout the collection. Many of the stories explore loss and isolation and the way music can help fill the void or even create a bigger divide. This is seen in my favourite story within the collection, A Rondo in Letters. This is a touching story, told through letters, of a son and his father who has dementia. The conflict of musical tastes and obsessions drives the family apart.

Taylor has created a collection of stories that will have the reader reconnecting to music. Either you will already know the music mentioned in the book and can enjoy the references or you will only have the basic knowledge of classical music that you learnt from school and you can go off, after reading the story, and explore the music. Taylor successfully caters for people who adore classical music with the references but he also creates interesting characters and stories for people who are not as aware of classical music.

Music lovers will love this collection along with short story fans. This is a short story collection which will not let you go even when you have finished.

You can read Jonathan's response to my Imaginary Bookshop Q&A over here and you can also read my review of Jonathan's novel, Entertaining Strangers here.

Kontakte and Other Stories can be ordered from your favourite online or offline book shop.

I was kindly sent a copy by the author. 

No comments: